Days 291, 292 and 293 — Mouse ears

Mariette says that they used to call the first leaves on the trees and bushes “mouse ears,” and they are now showing up at the end of April. It seems that the flowers came a couple weeks before leaves, which I didn’t expect. I thought it would be the other way around. But it is starting to happen around here, finally. I am used to seeing the trees blossom in January, February latest in the Bay Area and today I saw the first blossoms I have noticed. Was quite startling.

Meanwhile, in other news, the new water slide they are building in the local amusement park keeps growing. Neighbors are now beginning to protest because the thing is 50 feet high and they fear that the thing is going to generate a lot of noise when it opens this June. Personally, I can’t wait to try it, especially that blue and white striped part on the right. I have no idea what the part the extreme right plays in the whole affair.

Speaking of monstrosities, we have some awfully large daffodils growing in our yard. My fraternity in college used to sell them every spring to support some charity, but I don’t recall any this large.

I have been reading some commentaries about the Swedish system and how it is not all that it is cracked up to be. But on a day like today, you would have had a hard time convincing anybody here of that. So, I will leave it for a later post.

Leave a Reply

